Searching for Coffee

I’ve been researching coffee lately and I’m discovering just how complex this bean-based drink can be. I’m not referring to the various seven letter long word drinks you can order from your local chain caffeine giant, I’m referring to the bean itself. Where it’s farmed, when it’s harvested, how long it’s roasted, how it’s ground; all of these variables affect the way your cup o’ Joe tastes.

I have my lovely friend, Ella to thank for opening my eyes and taste buds to this wonderful world. She’s also the one I decided to invite along on my…

SEARCH FOR THE BEST LATTE ART

My research led me to Shimokitazawa, one of my favorite areas of Tokyo. Shimokitazawa is known for it’s off-beat style and is full of music venues and vintage clothing shops. Unfortunately, that image is slowly being overrun by corporate interest. The north side of the station now hosts an 8 floor department store with big money tenants like Uniqlo, Big Echo (karaoke) and Nijyu Maru (izakaya). These are great from cheap prices and convenience but anyone that knows Shimokitazawa can tell you that this is not what it represents.

But I digress, a lot of Shimokitazawa’s charm still exists especially in the cafes.

Our first stop was Bear Pond Espresso. Maybe you’ve heard of a little place in Shibuya called On The Corner. The little cafe in the front is part two of the Shimokitazawa location.

Bear Pond Espresso looks like a converted garage complete with open space and large windowed doors. We weren’t allowed to take photos so I can’t show you, you’ll just have to go see for yourself. I did manage to sneak a photo of my latte though.

Bear Pond Espresso brews up some great coffee and the art that accompanies the lattes isn’t too shabby either. But we we’re finished our search.

Next stop, Seven Colors (セブンカラーズ)

The staff at Seven Colors design pictures of rabbits, snowmen and bears using using a technique known as etching which, Ella informs me, is not real latte art, “anyone can do etching” she says.

The latte itself was pretty good but the snowman that appeared in my cup was a pleasant addition.

As we exhausted my list of cafes and OD’d on caffeine, Ella directed us to quaint little cafe which I believe she found through Bean Hunter. If you’re looking for a great cup of coffee, Coffea Exlibris is your place.

You can choose from single origin or blend coffees. I chose a Honduras single origin coffee with cherry and peach flavors. Each coffee comes with this information sheet which tells you everything about the beans and where they came from. It even has a picture of the farmer. It’s really nice to know where the stuff you’re drinking came from.

No photos were allowed in here either but it’s not as if I can express through a photo how amazing this cup of coffee was. I can honestly say it was the best cup of coffee I’ve drank up to this point. After all, I am just starting out on this wonderful coffee adventure.

Go COFFEE!

Leave a comment