My Favorite Things (mostly food)

Here are a few things that have been making me happy recently. Enjoy.

Coachella Live Stream: It really impresses me that a festival as big as Coachella is willing to live stream almost the entire two days of shows. Not only do you get to enjoy live, as-they-happen performances of amazing bands and musicians but you get to see them in high quality video with equally high quality audio. It’s a nice change from iPhone cam versions of the concerts you wish you attended. Watching the performances on Saturday night almost made me feel like I was actually there, minus the high energy crowds, sweat and dirt.

I read about it weeks ago then forgot about it, saw it in the supermarket but ignored it then I was reminded again about it’s existence by Ella from Love.Hate.Bake. Yerba Mate tea is my new favorite drink. Instead of ingesting copious amounts of coffee in order to stay alert at work I now drink a bottle of Yerba Mate tea (in Japan it’s called mate cha マテ茶). You can learn more about this South American drink here and here. There is a lot of controversy surrounding the tea and it’s possible link to some cancers so do your research.

Over the past two months or so I was feeling quite sluggish (more than usual) and I was beginning to notice that I wasn’t as sharp as I used to be and my memory was HORRIBLE! Reading, writing and doing puzzles didn’t seem to be helping at all. One day at the supermarket while in the health section I spotted fish oil capsules with EPA and DHA. I thought they might be worth a try especially since fish is  seriously lacking in my diet. I’ve been taking them twice a day for about a month now and generally feel more mentally alert and on the ball. It may be a placebo effect but I’ll continue to take them anyway with all the benefits I don’t see the harm.

I ordered a bunch of stuff from the Foreign Buyers Club for the first time the other day. It’s kind of exciting having 24 hour access to all most of your favorite foods from home. Instead of traveling with a load of heavy groceries on the train, FBC delivers everything right to your door. It’s a lovely service. This time around I got a package of Brookside Dark Chocolate Goji Raspberry. These delicious little snacks have been taunting me for months since I spotted them at a local international store. I couldn’t bring my self to buy them at over ¥600 per bag but FBC had them for a little cheaper so I couldn’t resist. I’m glad I didn’t, they’re so yummy and now, so gone. They didn’t last long at all.

We recently celebrated the boyfriends birthday and the lucky guy was sent a nice little package from his sister in Canada. What was inside? Food! Incredibly delicious food including Wildly Delicious Bruschetta. I cannot remember the last time I had bruschetta. I know I could probably make it easily enough but I don’t want to be responsible for ruining a perfectly good thing. This bruschetta–even though it came from a jar–was heavenly. The right amount of spice and a perfect balance between it and the veggies. Yum!

I discovered  パリパリサラダ(Pari Pari Salada) a few months ago and can’t get enough of it. This crunchy fried noodle gives my otherwise boring salads a nice texture. I’m all about having great texture for dinner.

In my feeble attempt at reconnecting with current music I’ve taken the suggestion of a few bloggers and started listening to Indie Pop Rocks on SomaFM via iTunes. I haven’t heard anything that has absolutely blown my mind yet (but I will).

-S

Leave a comment